Skip to the content

This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.


Over 120 people were in attendance at the annual WA School of Mines Alumni (WASMA) Kalgoorlie Graduates Dinner on Friday 24 May. The dinner provides WA School of Mines graduates the opportunity to connect with industry, hear from Curtin University’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Deborah Terry AO, Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Energy; Industrial Relations, the Honourable Bill Johnston MLA, and key note speaker Ivy Chen, Non-Executive Independent Director of Battery Minerals.

Twelve of the School’s graduates chose to graduate at the Kalgoorlie Campus, where graduate mining engineer, Dirk Garland, was the recipient of the 2018 WASMA Silver Medal. The silver medal is awarded to the top academic achiever in their chosen discipline. Dirk was presented his award by WASMA President Raleigh Finlayson.

Professor Sam Spearing, Director of WA School of Mines Kalgoorlie, was honoured  at the dinner for his contribution to WASM over the past four years, and announced his resignation. Prof Spearing will leave his role at the University in July to be closer to his children and grandchildren.

Six members from the class of 1969 attended the dinner and were acknowledged as they celebrated their 50-year graduate anniversary.

We congratulate the most recent Curtin WA School of Mines graduates and offer them a warm welcome into our WASMA family.